Students celebrate faculty with NCSAC Educator of the Year Awards


NCSAC president Ryan Huckla presents the full-time Educator of the Year Award to Kelly Martindale.

Two professors found themselves in the spotlight as recipients of the Niagara College Student Administrative Council’s Educator of the Year awards.

The annual awards are presented to one full-time and one part-time faculty member after students nominate an instructor they feel has gone above and beyond or has made a significant contribution to their education.

Kelly Martindale, program coordinator and professor in the Occupational Therapist Assistant and Physiotherapist Assistant program, won the award for full-time faculty award. Described as caring and kind, she was applauded for treating students as equals and being the “quintessential example of everything a student wants and needs an educator to be.”

Martindale who has worked full-time at NC for the past four years, said receiving the award was very humbling and meaningful to her because it came from the students.

“This award is extremely meaningful to me and I was deeply touched to hear my students feelings about my teaching style,” she said. “I feel so grateful to have the opportunity to teach and inspire my students.”

Chef professor Chris Smythe receives the part-time Educator of the Year Award from NCSAC president Ryan Huckla and associate dean of the CFWI Gary Torraville.

Chef professor Chris Smythe from the Canadian Food and Wine Institute gained the vote for the part-time faculty award. Students noted that “chefs are leaders, they are bold and they are incredibly knowledgeable … Chef Chris embodies that to the highest level.”

Symthe, who began working at the College part-time about 12 years ago, said he was surprised and humbled to receive the award.

“It is about making a difference in someone’s life and having that impact on someone,” said Smythe. “That’s what really matters.”

While he was teaching a class during the time of the ceremony, representatives from NCSAC visited him at the CFWI to present him with the award.

This year’s Educator of the Year awards were announced at NCSAC’s Night of Excellence held April 12 at the Stone Mill Ballroom in St. Catharines.

Share this article