NC EMA student selected for national sustainability conference

Meaghan LangilleMeaghan Langille, a student in NC’s Environmental Management and Assessment (EMA) program, is one of 175 post-secondary students chosen from across Canada to participate in the upcoming IMPACT! The Co-operators Youth Conference for Sustainability Leadership.

Langille – who was selected from a pool of more than 700 applicants — will join fellow students at the University of Guelph May 23 to 26, where they will work with experts to develop real sustainability solutions, which they will take back to their campuses, communities and future workplaces. The keynote speaker for the conference is Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, who will speak about the role of young people.

“My time in the EMA program at Niagara College has provided me with a great foundation of knowledge and skills that I think will be a valuable contribution to the IMPACT! Experience,” said Langille. “I have been able to learn a great deal about sustainability issues and have been able to see the role that young professionals can play in contributing to driving positive environmental change. I am very grateful for the opportunities I’ve been provided in my time at NC and look forward to connecting with like-minded people at IMPACT this May.”

“When The Co-operators launched the IMPACT! Program in 2009, sustainability was an issue that we felt deserved attention, but was not necessarily at the forefront of the minds of most Canadians,” said Kathy Bardswick, President and CEO of The Co-operators. “Since then, awareness of the need for sustainable practices, products and systems has grown, and it is young people who are often the leaders, taking action to create a more sustainable society.”

IMPACT! The Co-operators Youth Program for Sustainability Leadership is a partnership with The Natural Step Canada, the University of Guelph, the University of Saskatchewan Centre for the Study of Co-operatives, Wilfrid Laurier University, Lambton College, the Canadian Co-operative Association, the international student organization AIESEC, and the David Suzuki Foundation.

Share this article