SAC names Tyson, Dyment educators of the year

educators of the year

Pictured above: Alicia Tyson, SAC president Katryna McKenna, Ken Dyment.

Congratulations to Alicia Tyson and Ken Dyment, recipients of this year’s SAC Educator of the Year awards. Tyson and Dyment were honoured at SAC’s annual Educator of the Year Ceremony, held at The Core at the Welland Campus.

Tyson, a professor of Art and Design, and Dyment, who teaches graphic design, received the full time and part-time awards respectively.

“We’re fortunate to have great faculty at Niagara College, and it’s important to recognize their dedication to students,” said Katryna McKenna, SAC president. “Alicia and Ken have distinguished themselves among a very dedicated group, and we’re very pleased to recognize them as educators of the year.”

Recipients of the Educator of the Year awards are determined through feedback and comments received from students through a nomination process.

SAC Scholarship Award Winners were also celebrated at the ceremony. The winners were: Drew Ferguson (President’s Award), Chelsea Hildebrand (Executive Vice President’s Award), Ashley Pelley (Community Events Award), Dylan Reed Wiens (Student Life Award), Venus Lim (Health & Wellness Award), Sarah Tutti (Communications/Promotions Award), Garrett Zimmer (Memorial Award – NOTL) and Lindsay Gilliss-Lapp (Memorial Award – Welland).

Share this article