NC recognizes top scholar-athletes

CCAA scholar athletes 

Saturday December 1 saw Niagara College recognize recipients of the 2011-2012 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association National Scholar Award at the White Oaks Resort and Spa in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

The event saw 23 students, including five multi-year winners, presented with certificates of excellence for having achieved honours standing at Niagara College during the 2011-2012 academic year.

Among the award winners were representatives from all five varsity athletics programs currently being offered at Niagara College.

“The 23 student athletes being honoured today represent our highest number of National Scholar Award winners to date” said Sean Kennedy, Niagara College vice president of student and external relations.  Kennedy continued “at Niagara College we hope to continue increasing our number of National Scholar Award winners in the years to come.”

The event was attended by various members of the Niagara College community including family members of the award recipients, academic program chairs, members of the Niagara College Executive Committee, and members of the Department of Athletics & Recreation.

Niagara College Manager of Athletics & Recreation Matthew Davies feels that “the CCAA National Scholar Award epitomizes the true value of the student athlete experience. Niagara College is extremely proud of our 2011-2012 recipients, and look forward to growing our academic standards in years to come.”

The 2012-2013 National Scholar Award recipients will be announced in November of 2013.

List of 2012 National Scholar Award Winners:

Allana Arundell, Basketball

Julia Boekestyn, Basketball

Melissa Borowski, Curling

Megan Brady, Soccer

Lauren Brush, Curling

Tracy Carreau, Curling

Megan Cushnie, Soccer

Rachel de Burgh-Thomas, Soccer

Amanda Elliott, Soccer

Brenden Forrester, Soccer

Brent Gay, Golf

Josh Giancola, Soccer

Brandon Halchuk, Curling

Mark Kiers, Volleyball

Brianne McGrath, Soccer

Nicole McMullin, Soccer

Lindsay Murray, Volleyball

Brittany Russell, Soccer

Ava Sarkis, Volleyball

Matthew Service, Curling

Heather Vandermeer, Volleyball

Jon Vanspronsen, Soccer

Brad Wall, Volleyball

Share this article