Newly appointed SAC president looks forward to helping students

Katryna McKenna will be taking over the role of SAC president from Brian Costantini on May 1, 2012.


After two years at the helm of the Niagara College Student Administrative Council, Brian Costantini will be vacating the president’s seat to make way for the newly appointed SAC president Katryna McKenna.

McKenna, who was appointed into the position by the Board of Directors, currently serves as SAC’s Director of Student and Community Relations at the Welland campus. The Niagara native who currently lives in St. Catharines will be graduating from the college’s Community and Justice Services program this year. She will be SAC president for a two-year term.

She said she feels good about being the new president, and feels ready to take on the task and do her best.

“I think it will be a great experience and an awesome leadership role,” she said. “I love being a part of the Niagara College community and I look forward to helping the students.”

Before she officially assumes her new role on May 1, Costantini, has been helping her transition into her role. He said he has enjoyed the experience of being SAC president for the past two years.

“I think we’ve come a long way during the past two years with a brand new facility in Welland that we’re really proud of, and we’ve come a very long way in terms of transit, in terms of the regional transit starting up,” he said.  

Costantini, who graduated from the college’s Computer Engineering program about two years ago after attending Brock University for Business Administration, said he was also proud of his work with Brock University Student Union.

He hopes to continue working with SAC in the future if opportunities are available.

“The experience was amazing and I’d love to keep it going,” he said.

Joining McKenna will be 12 newly-elected members of SAC including: (in Welland) Amber Ziomick, executive vice-president; Chelsea Van Hoffen, director of social programming; Adam Schieren, director of media; and Daniela Cortes, director of clubs and volunteers; and (in  NOTL): Allan Ho, executive vice-president; Kenny Hilaire, director of student and community relations; Kyle Jackman, director of social programming; Daniel Clemens, director of clubs and volunteers; Rizwan Gilani, director of campaigns; and Becky Kozak, director of media.

Share this article